Contacts

 

WHO WE ARE

WAA was initiated by aspen scientists at Utah State University and the US Forest Service who saw a need for disseminating current research to managers and gaining feedback on appropriate research areas from the field. We have grown to include researchers, managers, land owners, conservationists, and other practitioners from around the western U.S. and Canada.

Steering Committee

Tom Adamson Utah State Forester, Bureau of Land Management

Utah State Office

tadamson@blm.gov

(801) 539-4044

Dale Bartos Ecologist, USDA Forest Service

Rocky Mountain Research Station

860 North 1200 East

Logan, UT 84321

dalelbartos@fs.fed.us

(435) 755-3567

Todd Chaudhry Research Coordinator, National Park Service

Colorado Plateau Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (CPCESU

200 East Pine Knoll Drive

Northern Arizona University

Flagstaff, AZ 86011

todd_chaudhry@nps.gov

(928) 523-6628

Liz Davy Ashton/Island Park District Ranger, USDA Forest Service

Caribou-Targhee National Forest

P.O.Box 858

Ashton, ID 83420

edavy@fs.fed.us

(208) 652-1203

Becky Estes Central Sierra Province Ecologist, USFS

Pacific Southwest Region

100 Forni Road

Placerville, CA 95667

bestes@fs.fed.us

(530) 642-5161

Stanley Kitchen Research Botanist, USDA Forest Service

Rocky Mountain Research Station

735 North 500 East

Provo, UT 84606

skitchen@fs.fed.us

(801) 356-5108

Kevin Krasnow Teton Science School

1 Ditch Creek Road, PO Box 68

Kelly, WY 83011

kevin.krasnow@tetonscience.org

(307) 732-7755

Marcus Miller Wildlife Biologist, Natural Resources Conservation Service

NRCS West National Technology Support Center

1201 NE Lloyd Blvd, Suite 1000

Portland, OR 97232

Marcus.Miller@por.usda.gov

(503) 273-2426

Keith Moser Research Forester, USDA Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station

Forest and Woodland Ecosystems Science

Scientist-in-charge

Fort Valley Experimental Forest

2500 S. Pine Knoll Drive

Flagstaff, AZ 86001

wkmoser@fs.fed.us

(928) 556-2046

CHAIR Paul Rogers Director, Western Aspen Alliance

Utah State University

Department of Wildland Resources

5230 Old Main Hill

Logan, UT 84322

p.rogers@usu.edu

(435) 797-0194

Ian Tator Statewide Terrestrial Habitat Manager , Wyoming Game & Fish Department

5400 Bishop Blvd.

Cheyenne, WY 82006

ian.tator@wyo.gov

(307) 777-4565

Science Advisory Panel

Cristina Eisenberg, PhD Lead Scientist, Earthwatch Institute

114 Western Ave

Boston, MA 02134

ceisenberg@earthwatch.org

(978) 450-1228

CHAIR Dominik Kulakowski Associate Professor, Clark University

School of Geography

Worchester, MA 01610

dkulakowski@clarku.edu

(508) 793-7383

Richard L. Lindroth Professor of Ecology, University of Wisconsin

Department of Entomology

Associate Dean for Research, and Associate Director of the Agricultural Research Station

1630 Linden Dr.

Madison, WI 53706

lindroth@entomology.wisc.edu

(608) 263-6277

Mary E. Manning Regional Vegetation Ecologist, USDA Forest Service

Northern Region

200 E. Broadway

Missoula, MT 59807

mmanning@fs.fed.us

(406) 329-3304

Karen Mock Associate Professor, Utah State University

Department of Wildland Resources

Associate Dean

Quinney College of Natural Resources

5230 Old Main Hill

Logan, UT 84322-5230

karen.mock@usu.edu

(435) 797-7870

Paul Rogers Director, Western Aspen Alliance

Samuel St. Clair Associate Professor, Brigham Young University

Plant & Wildlife Sciences

293 WIDB

Provo, UT 84603

stclair@byu.edu

(801) 422-5725

Samuel St. Clair Associate Professor, Brigham Young University

Plant & Wildlife Sciences

293 WIDB

Provo, UT 84603

stclair@byu.edu

(801) 422-5725

Emeritus Committee Members

Robert Campbell Ecologist, USDA Forest Service

Fishlake National Forest

115 East 900 North

Richfield, UT 84701

robertbcampbell@fs.fed.us

(435) 201-4816

Jessica M. Clement Scientist, University of Wyoming

Human Dimensions in Natural Resources

Director, Collaborative Leadership Program

Ruckelshaus Institute

Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources

804 E Fremont St

Laramie, WY 82072

jessica.clement@uwyo.edu

(307) 766-5048

Mary Lou Fairweather Forest Pathologist, USDA Forest Service

AZ Zone Forest Health Protection

2500 S. Pine Knoll Drive

Flagstaff, AZ 86001

mfairweather@fs.fed.us

(928) 556-2075

Jonas Feinstein WAA/NRCS Liaison, State of Colorado

USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service

US Dept of Agriculture

Ecological Sciences

CO

jonas.feinstein@co.usda.gov

(720) 544-2839

Mark Fowden Asst. Chief of Fisheries, Wyoming Game and Fish Department

5400 Bishop Boulevard

Cheyenne, WY 82006

mark.fowden@wgf.state.wy.us

(307) 777-4559

Bobette Jones Ecologist, USDA Forest Service

Eagle Lake Ranger District

Lassen National Forest

477-050 Eagle Lake Rd.

Susanville, CA 96130

bobettejones@fs.fed.us

(530) 257-4188

Steve Kilpatrick Executive Director, Wyoming Wildlife Federation

2490 Horse Creek Rd.

Jackson, WY 83001

stevekilpatrick@wyomingwildlife.org

(307) 413-7249

Daryl Lutz Lander Region Wildlife Biologist Supervisor, Wyoming Game and Fish Department

260 Buena Vista

Lander, WY 82520

daryl.lutz@wyo.gov

(307) 332-2688

Claudia Regan Regional Vegetation Ecologist, USDA Forest Service

Rocky Mountain Region

Affiliate Faculty

Colorado State University

Dept. of Forest, Rangeland, and Watershed Stewardship

CO

cregan@fs.fed.us

(303) 275-5004

William Ripple Oregon State University

Department of Forest Ecosystems and Society

Corvallis, OR 97330

bill.ripple@oregonstate.edu

(541) 737-3056

Ronald Ryel Associate Professor, Utah State University

Department of Wildland Resources/Ecology Center

5200 Old Main Hill

Logan, UT 84322

ron.ryel@usu.edu

(435) 797-8119

Channing Swan Forester, Bureau of Land Management

Pocatello Field Office

4350 Cliffs Drive

Pocatello, ID 83204

cswan@blm.gov

(208) 478-6389

Cindy Swanson Human Dimensions Program Manager, USDA Forest Service

Rocky Mountain Research Station

200 East Broadway

Missoula, MT 59807

cswanson@fs.fed.us

(406) 329-3388

Thomas Veblen Professor, University of Colorado, Boulder

Department of Geography

Campus Box 260

Boulder, CO 80309-0260

veblen@colorado.edu

(303) 492-8528

Aaron Wilkerson Forestry Program Lead, Bureau of Land Management

Utah State Office

440 West 200 South

Salt Lake City, UT 84101

aaron_wilkerson@blm.gov

(801) 539-4077

NEW Aspen Field Guide

by Paul C. Rogers

May 2017, 98 p.

11th North American Forest Ecology Workshop

July 19-22, 2017

University of Alberta, Edmonton